By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here, to know more. I agree


Indian citizens will be eligible for Pakistan eVisa

Indian citizens will soon be eligible for the eVisa for Pakistan according to a senior official from the Ministry of Interior. The electronic visas will allow Indians to enter for tourism and business without obtaining a visa from an embassy or consulate.

Indians are not currently eligible to obtain any type of tourist visa for Pakistan. Once available, Indians will be able to get a Pakistan eVisa within 7 days of completing the application. The online form will be much quick and convenient.

A senior Ministry official, who did not want to be named, said to the Khaleej Times: "The decision is based purely on economic considerations".

"Invariably the top management and decision-makers of leading international IT companies, like Motorolla and Google, turn out to be second or third-generation non-resident Indians", the official said.

"There was a clear bias in our visa policy when Indians are concerned. But at the end of the day it would have been counter-productive for us," the official added.

Imran Khan, the Pakistani president, accepted the ministry's proposal in a meeting. The eVisa will be launched over the coming weeks. Closer links with neighboring Idia are a part of Khan's economic revival plan for Pakistan.

What is the Pakistan eVisa and when will it launch?


The Pakistan eVisa will launch over the coming months. It will be available for tourists of over 175 countries and will save a great deal of time and hassle.

The online application for the Pakistan eVisa will be quick and simple to complete. Applicants will just need to enter some basic information such as their full name, address, date of birth, passport details, and travel plans.

In a recent government announcement, Fawad Chaudhry, the Information Minister,  said: “The government has opened Pakistan to boost tourism in the country.”

Over the last couple of years, dozens of countries have been launching eVisas in order to boost tourism. Statistics show that making it easier for tourists to enter does result in an increase in the number of visitors.

As part of the wider plan to boost tourism, the government also announced they would launch a visa on arrival. The 50 eligible countries will include Germany, Italy, Spain, Japan, New Zealand, Austria, Turkey, and Thailand.

At the moment, tourist visas are available to 182 countries (excluding India). They allow visitors to enter for periods of 90 days and permit two entries.